The Country Girls
The Country Girls
The Country Girls


The Country Girls


Regular price $300.00 Sale

The Country Girls is the first book in a trilogy consisting of three novels: The Country Girls (1960), The Lonely Girl (1962), and Girls in Their Married Bliss (1964). The friendship of two girls, Caithleen and Baba, is put on the test as they grow up, are expelled from a convent school, and escape to Dublin. All three novels were banned by the Irish censorship board and faced significant public disdain in Ireland. In fact, the trilogy was subject to multiple public book burnings, including one in O'Brien's hometown of Tuamgraney.

Publication Info

  • Publisher: Hutchinson
  • Edition: First Edition
  • Date Published: 1960
  • Place Published: London
  • ISBN: n/a


  • Condition: Near fine
  • Signed: No
  • Dust Jacket: Yes
  • Jacket Condition: Very good
  • Details:
    223 p. 21 cm. Black cloth in mylar-covered dustjacket. Spine head a bit softened. Small tears and wear to jacket edges and spine darkened.

Share the book love

Have a Question about this item?