1

It's Me O Lord: The Autobiography of Rockwell Kent

KENT, Rockwell

Regular price $150.00 Sale

Rockwell Kent (1882-1971) was an American artist and naturalist in the tradition of Thoreau and Whitman. He was a painter but is best known for his woodcut illustrations for books such as Moby Dick. This book reproduces many of his work from other publications as well as his paintings. In addition the book features many new works not previously published. The book traces Kent's career, personal life, and his quest for spiritual enlightenment.

Publication Info

  • Publisher: Dodd, Mead and Company
  • Edition: 1st Edition
  • Date Published: 1955
  • Place Published: New York
  • ISBN: n/a

Details

  • Condition: Very good
  • Signed: No
  • Dust Jacket: Yes
  • Jacket Condition: Fair
  • Details:
    25 cm. x, [2], 617p. Blue cloth boards with gold impressing on front board and spine. Includes original pictorial dustjacket with photograph of the author in mylar. Includes 277 black and white illustrations, mainly the author's woodcuts and decorative lettering at the beginning of each chapter. Also includes 71 plates of the author's painting, 8 of which are in colour. Two of the black and white plates depict his art on ceramics. Wear and tearing to the dustjacket, including chip at spine head affecting lettering. Some wear to corners of boards and extremes of the spine. Pages clean.